Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. Adds Affiliates

April 14, 1998

to Atlanta Braves Southeast Network Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. (TBS, Inc.) today announced 10 additional broadcast stations licensing the Atlanta Braves Southeast Network, a package of 11 Atlanta Braves 1998 regular season games syndicated throughout the Southeast in the Atlanta Braves Home Territory.

The Braves Southeast Network launched in the Atlanta area with WUPA-TV/UPN69. The Atlanta Braves Home Territory as designated by Major League Baseball includes the states of Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee and South Carolina; as well as the state of Mississippi (except for the Mobile, Ala., - Pensacola, Fla., ADI county of George) and western North Carolina from and including Winston Salem/Charlotte.

The stations and their respective markets are as follows:

WABM-TV (UPN) Birmingham, Ala.
WBKL-TV (IND) Albany, Ga.
WUPA-TV (UPN) Atlanta, Ga.
WBEK-TV (WB) Augusta, Ga.
WSWS-TV (WB) Columbus, Ga.
WGNM-TV (UPN) Macon, Ga.
WAXN-TV (IND) Charlotte, N.C.
WBFX-TV (WB/FOX) Greensboro, N.C.
WFBC-TV (IND) Greenville, N.C.
WNAB-TV (WB) Nashville, Tenn.
WBXX-TV (WB) Knoxville, Tenn.

These 11 games are in addition to the 90-game regular season telecasts that will be shown on TBS Superstation for the 1998 season. The Atlanta Braves Southeast Network season kicks off on Thursday, Apr. 23, and concludes on Thursday, Sept. 10. All games are produced by Turner Sports with TBS' Atlanta Braves announcers Skip Caray, Joe Simpson, Don Sutton and Pete Van Wieren calling the action.

Contact Info: