Robin Roberts to receive Sager Strong Award during 2019 NBA Awards

9 May 2019 - By WarnerMedia Staff

This week, Turner Sports and the NBA announced that “Good Morning America” Anchor Robin Roberts will be this year’s recipient of the Sager Strong Award at the 2019 NBA Awards.

Roberts has held many different titles during her illustrious broadcasting career, including sports reporter and anchor in several local markers, ESPN SportsCenter Host and co-anchor of Good Morning America. She’s received numerous awards over her many decades as a journalist, including:

  • 2008 WNBA Inspiration Award
  • 2012 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductee
  • 2012 George Foster Peabody Award
  • 2013 Arthur Ashe Courage Award – ESPYS  
  • 2014 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism
  • 2016 Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame inductee
  • 2019 Gracie Award
  • Several Daytime Emmy Awards

However, it’s Roberts courage during her own health scare that has garnered the most admiration. In 2007, she was diagnosed with breast cancer, triggering an outpouring of support from across the nation, and again five years later with myelodysplatic syndrome (MDS). She aligned with Be the Match to inform the public about the need for more donors and, since her diagnosis, the bone marrow registry has seen a tremendous increase. She’s also been recognized with awards and honors from The Susan G. Komen Foundation and The Congressional Families Cancer Prevention Program.

It’s only fitting she now receives the Sager Strong Award, named for iconic Turner Sports sideline reporter Craig Sager. The award is presented annually to an individual who has been a trailblazer while exemplifying courage, faith, compassion and grace. It is bestowed upon the recipient in the form of a colorful suit jacket, a replica of the one worn by Sager during his unforgettable “Time is simply how you live your life” speech in 2016. 

The 2019 “NBA Awards Presented by Kia” will air Monday, June 24 at 9 p.m. ET on TNT from Los Angeles.