Third Annual Alfred Eisenstaedt Awards for Magazine Photography Competition Opens

October 25, 1999

Two New Award Categories: Travel and New Talent; Magazine Supplements to Newspapers are Now Eligible

Deadline for Entries: December 10, 1999

The Alfred Eisenstaedt Awards for Magazine Photography has opened nominations for the third annual competition, adding two new categories for Travel and New Talent, and for the first time accepting entries of photographs that appear in newspaper magazine supplements.

Presented by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, which administers the judging under a grant from LIFE, the awards are named for photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt, a pioneer of photojournalism who died in 1995 at the age of 96. The "Eisies" are presented to photographers for outstanding work in a number of different categories, ranging from News and Fashion to Nature and Environment and Architecture.

This year, the competition has created a Travel category for the best portrayal of a place, urban or remote, vast or personal, which is seen as a destination. The competition will also confer a New Talent award for an emerging photographer of striking promise.

The entries in each category are assigned to three independent screening judges who review them and make nominations for winners and runners-up. Final judging will be conducted by a five-member independent judging panel. The judges this year are: Michael Bierut, partner, Pentagram; Vicki Goldberg, photography critic and art historian; Paul Lowe, photographer, Magnum Photos; Marcel Saba, director, Saba Press; and Fred Woodward, art director, Rolling Stone.Awards will be presented at a ceremony and dinner on April 5,

2000. The new guidelinesare:

  • Photographers must be published in American magazines between December 1, 1998 and December 1, 1999.

  • Nominations for entry will be accepted from magazines, newspaper magazine supplements, photo agencies, design studios, independent art directors and agents, freelance photo editors, and photographers. Photographers may submit their own work.

  • The categories are: News, Journalistic Impact, The Way We Live, Nature and Environment, Science and Technology, Sports, Travel, Portrait, Fashion, Architecture, Still Life, Digital Imagery, Cover of the Year, New Talent and the LIFE Legend award. NOTE: Photographers may not nominate themselves for the New Talent and LIFE Legend categories.

  • Winners will receive $1,500 and an Eisie Award designed by Steuben, as well as travel to and accommodations for the 2000 awards ceremony. The winning photographs, finalists and some other nominated images will appear in a special issue of LIFE.

  • There is a $35 fee for each entry.

  • Deadline for entries is December 10, 1999.

  • Entry forms can be obtained by calling (212) 854-6540 or faxing (212) 854-7837.

Attached is a list of winning publications and photographers for the 1998 and 1999 awards.

1999 Winners

LIFE Legend
Helmut Newton

Cover of the Year
Dirck Halstead

News (Single Image)
Paul Lowe

News (Photo Essay)
Paul Lowe

Journalistic Impact (Single Image)
Dirck Halstead

Journalistic Impact (Photo Essay)
Zed Nelson

The Way We Live (Single Image)
Sebastião Salgado

The Way We Live (Photo Essay)
Tim Rice

Nature and Environment (Single Image)
Frederick Charles

Nature and Environment (Photo Essay)
Peter Brown

Science and Technology (Single Image)
Catrina Genovese

Science and Technology (Photo Essay)
Max Aguilera-Hellweg

Sports (Single Image)
Ross Kinnaird

Sports (Photo Essay)
Various photographers (Reuven Afanador, Anton Corbijn, John Huett, Sam Jones, Nadav Kander, David La Chapelle, Matt Mahurin, Kurt Markus, Robert Maxwell, Mark Seliger, Peggy Sirota, Isabel Snyder)

Portrait (Single Image)
Mark Seliger

Portrait (Photo Essay)
David Seidner

Fashion (Single Image)
Deborah Turbeville

Fashion (Photo Essay)
Deborah Turbeville

Design: Still Life
Raymond Meier

Design: Architecture (Single Image)
Richard Barnes

Design: Architecture (Photo Essay)
Robert Polidori

Photo Illustration
Seb Janiak

1998 Winners

LIFE Legend
Sebastião Salgado

Cover of the Year
Matt Mahurin

Cutting Edge Essay
David LaChapelle

Cutting Edge Photo
Dan Winters

Cutting Edge: Photo Illustration
Matt Mahurin

Eyewitness Essay
Antonin Kratochvil

Eyewitness Photo
Gilles Peress/Magnum

Eyewitness: Sports Photo
Max Vadukul

Human Spirit Essay
Lynn Johnson/Aurora

Human Spirit Photo
Jane Evelyn Atwood/Contact Press Images

Martin Parr/Magnum

Journalistic Impact
Joe McNally

Our World Essay
Emmet Gowin

Our World Photo
Steve McCurry/Magnum

Our World: Nature Photo
Joanna Pinneo/Aurora

Our World: Science Photo
JPL/NASA, Astronomy

Portraiture Essay
Larry Towell/Magnum

Portraiture Photo
Bruce Weber

Style Essay
Philip Lorca Di Corcia

Style Photo
David LaChapelle

Style: Design Photo
James Wojcik

Contact Info: