Big winners at The WB Radio Music Awards

October 28, 1999

Big winners at "The WB Radio Music Awards" includeDavid Bowie, Lauryn Hill, Shania Twain, Smash Mouth,Dixie Chicks, Limp Bizkit, Edwin Mccain, Jay-Zand Goo Goo Dolls

The WB's First Big-Event Special Featured Crowd-Rousing Performances ByDavid Bowie, Kid Rock, Sugar Ray, Garth Brooks, Smash Mouth, 'N SyncFaith Hill, Naughty By Nature and Warren G

Tonight, THE WB RADIO MUSIC AWARDS brought the house down at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas as winners David Bowie, Lauryn Hill, Shania Twain, Dixie Chicks, Smash Mouth, Jay-Z, Limp Bizkit, Edwin McCain, Goo Goo Dolls and Dallas radio deejay Kidd Kraddick took home inaugural awards. The two-hour event, described by Sugar Ray's Mark McGrath as "Las Vegas-palooza," marks the network's first perennial special and was broadcast live from 8:00-10:00 p.m. ET.The first award, for Alternative Artist of the Year, was presented by Christina Aguilera and David Boreanaz and went to Smash Mouth, known for hit singles "Walkin' On The Sun," "All Star," "Can't Get Enough of You Baby" and a cover of War's "Why Can't We Be Friends."The honor of Hip-Hop/R&B Artist of the Year was presented by Big Boy and Kenny Chesney to Lauryn Hill. Hill previously garnered five Grammy Awards for her platinum solo album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, which featured hit singles including "Doo Wop (That Thing)" and "Lost Ones."The contest for Country Artist of the Year resulted in a tie, with winners Dixie Chicks and Shania Twain each bestowed with the honor by presenters Gerry House, Vitamin C and Edwin McCain. Both the Dixie Chicks and Shania Twain have helped propel country music into the mainstream, with the Dixie Chicks' Grammy Award-winning debut album Wide Open Spaces becoming the biggest-selling album ever by a country duo or group, while Twain's Come On Over spawned six hits including her ballad "You're Still The One."Goo Goo Dolls' "Iris," from the "City of Angels" soundtrack and the rock trio's Dizzy Up The Girl album, was awarded Pop Song of the Year by Los Angeles radio deejay Rick Dees and Luscious Jackson.Limp Bizkit nabbed the award for Parents Just Don't Understand, presented by Adam Carolla and Jimmy Kimmell of "The Man Show," which was the result of online voting through The WB and Excite@Home over the past two weeks. Also winner of the online voting, Jay-Z won Best Car Jam for the single "Can I Get A...," presented by B*Witched and Jason Behr.Once the show commenced, viewers also voted online for their picks in three new categories: announced live on the show were 'N Sync winning Most Stylin' Male and Christina Aguilera winning Most Stylin' Female. The results of the voting on Best Performance will be posted on the internet.Edwin McCain was presented with the award for Best Hook-Up Song by Robbie Williams, Julio Iglesias Jr. and LeAnn Rimes for his hit single "I'll Be."

Recognizing the powerful impact radio has on the success of a musical act, the evening honored the nation's on-air radio personalities, with the top spot of Air Personality of the Year going to morning deejay Kidd Kraddick of 106.1 KISS-FM in Dallas. The statue was presented by Jo Dee Messina, Ginuwine and Lou Bega.

To a standing ovation, Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Famer David Bowie was honored with the firstLegend Award, presented by Garth Brooks, and inducted into The WB Radio Music Awards Hall of Fame. With a career that has crossed many genres and spanned four decades, the visionary rocker's classic albums include The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders from Mars, Young Americans, ChangesOneBowie and Let's Dance.

The two-hour broadcast, culminating with a live performance of "The Pretty Things Are Going To Hell" and "Rebel Rebel" by David Bowie(", featured performances by today's hottest musical acts across many popular genres, including Kid Rock("Cowboy"), Faith Hill(" ("Breathe"), Sugar Ray(" ("Falls Apart"), 'N Sync (" (a medley of "Tearin' Up My Heart," "I Want You Back" and "Bye Bye Bye"), Smash Mouth(" ("All Star"), Garth Brooks(" ("Right Now"), Warren G(" ("I Want It All") and Naughty By Nature(" (a medley of "Jamboree" and "Holiday").

Also appearing in the broadcast were Joshua Jackson ("Dawson's Creek"), David Boreanaz ("Angel"), Leslie Bibb & Carly Pope ("Popular"), Garcelle Beauvais ("The Jamie Foxx Show"), Tom Green ("The Tom Green Show"), Carson Daly (MTV's "Total Request Live"), David Cassidy, and top radio deejays from across the country including Rick Dees and Ellen K. from Los Angeles' KIIS, Ryan Seacrest from Los Angeles' KYSR, Mancow from Chicago's WKXQ, Randy Miller from Kansas City's KBEQ, Big Boy from Los Angeles' Power 106, John Jay from Houston's KKBQ, Gerry House from Nashville's WSIX, and Laurie De Young from Baltimore's WPOC.

Nominations were based upon radio airplay as determined by Mediabase, the medium's leading source for tracking airplay. The WB Radio Music Awards Academy is comprised of 400 radio programmers, in various formats from the top radio markets, who selected the winners.

THE WB RADIO MUSIC AWARDS was produced by Tall Pony Productions. The executive producers were Anthony Eaton, three-time Grammy winner in the long-form video category; Paul Joseph, executive producer and co-creator of "Rick Dees Weekly Top 40"; and Von Freeman, Director of Marketing, Clear Channel Communications-Los Angeles.

Contact Name: Patty Triplett, The WB Publicity,
Contact Phone: (818) 977-6009

Contact Name:Julie Kingsdale, The WB Publicity,
Contact Phone: (818) 977-2308

Contact Info: