'The Matrix Revolutions' Becomes the First Major Studio Film to Release Day & Date with the U.S. in China

Burbank, CA -- On the heels of Warner Bros. Pictures and Village Roadshow Pictures' recent announcement to unveil "The Matrix Revolutions" at the exact same moment in every major city around the world on November 5, Warner Bros. Pictures International has received approval from the PRC Film Bureau to release "The Matrix Revolutions" in the PRC on November 5. This will be the first time that a major studio film has been accepted in China for a day and date (not to mention simultaneous) release with the United States. The announcement was made today by Veronika Kwan-Rubinek, President, Distribution, Warner Bros. Pictures International.

At 10 p.m. (Beijing time) on November 5, the film will have its initial opening in China's major cities on 100 subtitled prints. Dubbed versions of the film will be released on approximately 130 prints the following week. The film's release will be handled jointly by China's two authorized distributors of imported films: the distribution arm of the China Film Group Corporation, the state-run importer of foreign films, and the recently-established Huaxia Film Distribution Company.

"In order to achieve a day and date release in China, the censorship process and technical delivery timeline had to be significantly accelerated. Ellen Eliasoph, the Managing Director in China of Warner Bros. Pictures International, has done a great job of working closely with the China Film Group Corporation, the state-run importer of foreign films, to accomplish this feat," said Kwan-Rubinek. "We hope that this will pave the way for future Hollywood films to release on the heels of their U.S. launches, thereby allowing the industry to more effectively combat piracy in this market."

This unprecedented distribution scenario will make the highly anticipated film available to fans simultaneously at 6 a.m. in Los Angeles, 9 a.m. in New York, 2 p.m. in London, 5 p.m. in Moscow, 11 p.m. in Tokyo and at corresponding times in over 60 additional countries worldwide.

In "The Matrix Revolutions," the final chapter in the "Matrix" trilogy, the rebels' long quest for freedom culminates in an explosive battle. As the Machine Army wages devastation on Zion, its citizens mount an aggressive defense -- but can they stave off the relentless swarm of Sentinels long enough for Neo to harness the full extent of his powers and end the war?

Written and directed by the Wachowski Brothers and produced by Joel Silver, "The Matrix Revolutions" stars Keanu Reeves, Laurence Fishburne, Carrie-Anne Moss, Hugo Weaving and Jada Pinkett Smith.

"The Matrix Revolutions" will be released worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company, and in select territories by Village Roadshow Pictures.

Contact Info:

Stacy Ivers (Warner Bros. Pictures)
stacy.ivers@warnerbros.com (818) 954-6228